Cody Unser
Gerätetauchen

Cody Unser

Founder, The Cody Unser First Step Foundation / PADI Advanced Open Water Diver

Biografie

Cody Unser, weiblicher Nachkomme berühmter Indi 500 Rennfahrer, gründete mit 13 Jahren die “The Cody Unser First Step” Stiftung, um das Bewusstsein und die medizinische Zusammenarbeit für die Krankheit «Transverse Myelitis» und die Lebensqualität für Betroffene zu fördern; aufgrund dieser Autoimmunkrankheit ist Cody seit 1999 gelähmt. Die Stiftung unterstützt seit über einem Jahrzehnt Untersuchungen zum adaptiven Tauchen und zu dessen Potenzial als therapeutische Maßnahme bei Erkrankungen.

Über die Stiftung wurde auch Codys Organisation “Great Scuba Adventure” ins Leben gerufen, bei der das Tauchen als therapeutisches und psychologisches Mittel Anwendung für Personen findet, die an verschiedenen Formen von Lähmungserkrankungen leiden. In ihrer neuen Dokumentation “Sea of Change” geht es um neurologische und psychologische Wirkungen des Tauchens auf eine ausgewählte Gruppe gelähmter Kriegsveteranen. Cody Unser arbeitet im Rahmen ihrer Stiftung weiterhin daran, dass durch das adaptive Tauchen das Leben und die Lebensqualität von Erkrankten verbessert und die Öffentlichkeit besser darüber informiert wird.

Sie verbringt viel Zeit mit Reisen durch die USA, bei denen sie sich in Vorträgen für die Belange von behinderten Personen einsetzt; sie nimmt an medizinischen Symposien teil und hilft anderen „Grassroot“ Organisationen, die ähnliche Ziele verfolgen.

Cody wurde in Albuquerque, New Mexico (USA), geboren, wo sie auch aufwuchs. Gegenwärtig lebt sie in Washington D.C., wo sie an der George Washington University an ihrem Masterabschluss im Bereich Gesundheitspolitik arbeitet.

Heimatort

阿尔布开克, New Mexico
Vereinigte Staaten

Karrierehöhepunkte

  • Zertifiziert als Peer Mentor, The Christopher and Dana Reeve Foundation
  • US News and World Report Patient Advocate Writer
  • Aufgenommen in die Women Divers Hall of Fame, 2016
  • Red Cross Hero Award, New Mexico, 2012
  • National MS Society, “Spirit of Da Vinci” Award, 2011
  • “CODY” Dokumentation mit Christopher Productions, für PBS/Theatrical, 2009
  • University of Redlands “Global Impact Award”, 2009
  • President Gerald Ford “People Helping People” Award, 2006
  • Spinal Cord Injury Hall of Fame “Emerging Leader” Award, 2006
  • Grand Prix Americas Foundation Special Achievement Award, 2003
  • Established The Cody Unser First Step Foundation, 1999

Siehe mehr von

Mehr AmbassaDivers

Scuba Diving

Cody Unser

Founder, The Cody Unser First Step Foundation / PADI Advanced Open Water Diver

Biography

Cody Unser, a scion of Indy 500 racing greats, founded The Cody Unser First Step Foundation at the age of 13 to raise awareness, medical collaboration and quality of life for Transverse Myelitis, the autoimmune condition that left her paralyzed in 1999. Her foundation's focus on mainstreaming adaptive scuba for over a decade and its potential as a therapeutic tool in exercise science is creating a buzz in the medical and dive industries.

Through her foundation, she established Cody’s Great Scuba Adventure, which uses scuba diving as a therapeutic and psychological tool for people living with different forms of paralysis. Her new documentary, “Sea of Change,” explored the neurological and psychological effects of scuba on a group of chosen paralyzed veterans. Unser continues to "change lives one dive at a time" and be the vehicle to promote and educate communities about the foundations quality of life adaptive scuba program.

Unser has become a leading advocate for people living with disabilities and spends much of her time traveling across the country to deliver keynote speeches, attend medical symposia and help other grassroots organizations that have similar missions.

Unser was born and raised in Albuquerque, New Mexico, U.S.A. She currently lives in Washington, D.C. where she is pursuing her masters in public health policy at George Washington University.

Hometown

Albuquerque, New Mexico
United States

Career Highlights

  • Certified Peer Mentor, The Christopher and Dana Reeve Foundation
  • US News and World Report Patient Advocate Writer
  • Women Divers Hall of Fame Inductee, 2016
  • Red Cross Hero Award, New Mexico, 2012
  • National MS Society, “Spirit of Da Vinci” Award, 2011
  • “CODY” Documentary with Christopher Productions, for PBS/Theatrical, 2009
  • University of Redlands “Global Impact Award,” 2009
  • President Gerald Ford “People Helping People” Award, 2006
  • Spinal Cord Injury Hall of Fame “Emerging Leader” Award, 2006
  • Grand Prix Americas Foundation Special Achievement Award, 2003
  • Established The Cody Unser First Step Foundation, 1999

See more of

More AmbassaDivers