Gerätetauchen

Clement Lee

PADI Course Director / Dive Pioneer / Tourism Advisor of Malaysia

Biografie

Clement Lee wurde im Jahr 1985 PADI Instructor und in 1991 einer der beiden ersten PADI Course Directors Malaysias. Mit seiner ausgiebigen Taucherfahrung in Sabahs Gewässern, war Clement einer der Pioniere, die das Sporttauchen professionalisierten, und er führte auf Sipadan ein Management für Tauchresorts ein. Im Tourism Board Dive Committee von Sabah fungierte er als Mitglied und hat unermüdlich daran gearbeitet, dort eine Tauchbranche aufzubauen; zudem förderte er diverse Umweltschutzinitiativen sowie Project AWARE®.

Im Jahr 2015 wurde ihm die prestigeträchtige Funktion als Tourismusberater Malaysias übertragen, um das Tauchen im Lande zu repräsentieren und zu fördern. Tourism Malaysia würdigt Clement Lee wie folgt: „Clement Lee ist der wahre Pionier der Tauchbranche in Malaysia; er ist ein standhafter und entschiedener Umweltschützer mit festen Überzeugungen in Bezug auf die Bedutung, die dem Schutz und der Bewahrung der Unterwasserwelt der Region zukommt. Clement hatte einen tiefgreifenden Einfluss auf das Wachstum und die Entwicklung des sportlichen Tauchens und den Tauchtourismus in diesem Teil der Welt.“

Clements Mission: Jeden zum Tauchen zu inspirieren, um die bezaubernde Unterwasserwelt mit eigenen Augen sehen zu können.
„Um im Tauchbusiness Erfolg zu haben, brauchst du Leidenschaft und Geduld“, sagt Lee. „Die Umwelt ist wie ein stiller Patient; er spricht nicht, aber sein Zustand wird Konsequenzen für uns haben. Ist die Umwelt krank, werden wir alle krank.“

Heimatort

Labuan,
Malaysia

Karrierehöhepunkte

  • Einführung von professionellen PADI Kursen in Sabah (1983), was Malaysias Tauchbranche und Tauchtourismus in die Wege leitete
  • Führte in Malaysia ein Management für Tauchresorts ein und machte die Insel Sipadan zu einer “Top 5 Tauchdestination”
  • Hat im Jahr 2004 erreicht, dass öffentliche MIttel zum Schutz der fragilen Umwelt der Insel Sipadan eingesetzt wurden
  • Wurde im Jahr 1991 einer der beiden ersten PADI Course Directors Malaysias
  • Startete Malaysias erstes lizenziertes PADI Diver Training Institute (Borneo Divers Training Institute), das der Jugend von Malaysia die Möglichkeit einer Karriere im Tauchen bietet „Ich bin stolz darauf, dass heute 5.000 junge Leute direkt oder indirekt in Malaysias Tauchbranche arbeiten, von Null im Jahr 1983“, sagt Lee.
  • Clement ist Träger des DEMA Reaching Out Award (2008)
  • Geehrt in der International Scuba Diver Hall of Fame (2011)

Siehe mehr vonClement Lee

Mehr AmbassaDivers

Scuba Diving

Clement Lee

PADI Course Director / Dive Pioneer / Tourism Advisor of Malaysia

Biography

Clement Lee became a PADI Instructor in 1985 and, in 1991, was one of the first two Malaysians to become a PADI Course Director. Having extensive diving experience in Sabah’s waters, Clement was one of the pioneers to introduce professionalism in recreational diving, as well as dive resort management in Sipadan. As a Tourism Board Dive Committee member for Sabah, he has also worked tirelessly to promote the dive tourism industry there, as well as conservation and environmental initiatives including Project AWARE®.

In 2015, Clement was appointed to the prestigious role of Tourism Advisor of Malaysia to represent and help promote the country’s diving. Tourism Malaysia described Clement Lee as,“…the embodiment of the entrepreneurial dive industry pioneer, a staunch conservationist with unrelenting views on the importance of protecting and conserving the region’s unique marine attractions. Clement has had a profound influence on the growth and development of recreational diving and dive tourism in this part of the world.”

Clement’s mission: To inspire everyone to go diving, so they can witness the extremely beautifully underwater world. “You must have the passion and be patient to do well in the diving business,” Lee says. “The environment is our silent partner, it doesn’t speak but will fight back. If it is ill we are all going to be sick.”

Hometown

Labuan,
Malaysia

Career Highlights

  • Pioneered diving tourism and created a dive industry in Sabah, Malaysia, through the introduction of PADI Professional courses (1983)
  • Introduced dive resort management in Malaysia and propelled the island of Sipadan to a “Top 5 dive destination”
  • Vacating Sipadan – the island he pioneered in 1983 – to protect its fragile environment without funds from the authorities (2004)
  • Became one of the first two Malaysian PADI Course Directors (1991)
  • Started Malaysia's first licensed PADI Diver Training Institute (Borneo Divers Training Institute), opening up Malaysian youths’ opportunity to pursue a diving career. “I am proud to see 5000 local youths being directly or indirectly employed in the dive industry today, from zero in 1983,” says Lee.
  • Recipient of the DEMA Reaching Out Award (2008)
  • Inducted into International Scuba Diver Hall of Fame (2011)

See more of Clement Lee

More AmbassaDivers